The Early Years Foundation Stage

We follow the Nation Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum.

The purpose and aim of the EYFS is to provide the best start in life for every child where they are supported to reach their full potential.

The EYFS framework is based on four key principals;

* A Unique Child ; Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident, and self assured.

* Positive Relationships ; Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

* Enabling Environments ; The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending the children's development and learning.

* Learning and Development ; Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. All areas of learning and development are equally as important and interconnected.

The learning and development principle is divided into seven areas;

   Personal, social and emotional development

   Communication and Language



   Understanding the world

   Physical development

   Expressive Arts and Design

For each area, the guidance sets out early learning goals broken down into achievable stepping stones. These goals state what is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception years of their education.

We record each child's learning journey and development at the playgroup/preschool by compiling an individual learning journey for the child, which the parents/carers can view on Tapestry at any time, and add comments and their own photographs of what the children have been doing in their free time.